BCS Announces Teams Still Under Consideration For Berths

IRVING, Texas -- The 10 Bowl Championship Series (BCS) conferences and four bowls today announced that 27 teams remain under consideration to participate in the five games that comprise the BCS.

The teams were identified during a teleconference among the 10 Football Bowl Subdivision conference commissioners, the Notre Dame athletics director, and representatives from the Discover Orange Bowl, Allstate Sugar Bowl, Tostitos Fiesta Bowl and the Rose Bowl Game presented by VIZIO. The No. 1 and No. 2 teams in the final BCS Standings will meet in the VIZIO BCS National Championship Game January 6 in Pasadena.

The champions of the American Athletic, Atlantic Coast, Big Ten, Big 12, Pac-12 and Southeastern conferences automatically qualify for a BCS game. In addition, the highest-ranked conference champion from among Conference USA, the Mid-American, Mountain West and Sun Belt Conferences earns automatic qualification to one of the BCS games if that champion is ranked No. 12 or better in the final BCS Standings, or No. 16 or better if it is ranked higher than any champion from the American Athletic, ACC, Big Ten, Big 12, Pac-12 or Southeastern conferences. Notre Dame also qualifies automatically if it is ranked No. 8 or better.

At-large berths also will be available. The bowls will fill those berths from teams ranked in the top 14 of the final BCS Standings. No conference may place more than two teams in the BCS games, unless the conference has two teams in the National Championship Game, and neither team is its champion.

The final BCS Standings will be compiled Sunday, December 8. The BCS bowl pairings will be announced at 8:30 p.m. Eastern time that day, on ESPN.

The champions from the six conferences which receive automatic spots in the BCS games have not been determined. The following is a list of teams still contending for their conferences’ automatic berths:

  • American: Central Florida, Cincinnati, Louisville

  • Atlantic Coast: Duke, Florida State, Georgia Tech, Miami (Fla.), Virginia Tech

  • Big Ten: Michigan State, Ohio State

  • Big 12: Baylor, Oklahoma State, Texas

  • Pac-12: Arizona State, Stanford

  • SEC: Alabama, Auburn, Missouri, South Carolina

In addition to those teams, the pool of teams remaining under consideration also includes (in alphabetical order): Clemson, Fresno State, LSU, Northern Illinois, Oklahoma, Oregon, Texas A&M, Wisconsin.

Following is the schedule of the BCS games. All games will be televised on ESPN.