Penn State's Spanier to chair BCS Presidential Oversight Committee

Penn State president Graham Spanier has been named chairman of the 12-member Bowl Championship Series (BCS) Presidential Oversight Committee. Spanier replaces Nebraska Chancellor Harvey Perlman.

"The BCS system enjoys strong support from the Presidential Oversight Committee, and Dr. Spanier is the perfect person to lead the committee," said BCS Executive Director Bill Hancock. "He knows that college football is thriving because it has the best season anywhere, delivers the national championship game, and preserves the appeal and pageantry of the bowl system."

The Presidential Oversight Committee, which was expanded in 2009 to include a university president or chancellor representing each Football Bowl Subdivision conference and the University of Notre Dame, manages the BCS with particular focus on policy, format, revenue distribution, and contractual obligations.

"I am honored by my presidential colleagues to be selected to lead the governance activities of one of the great modern traditions in intercollegiate athletics," said Spanier. "The BCS will endeavor to serve the best interests of our universities, our student athletes and the many alumni and fans who follow collegiate football."

Spanier is a founding member of the BCS Oversight Committee, where he has represented the Big Ten since the Oversight Committee's inception. He is a former chair of the NCAA Division I Board of Directors and has served as chair of the Big Ten Presidents and Chancellors.

The current members of the Presidential Oversight Committee are as follows (for bios on Committee Members, click here.)

  • Chairman, Graham Spanier - President, The Pennsylvania State University

  • Victor Boschini - Chancellor, Texas Christian University

  • Scott Cowen - President, Tulane University

  • Rev. John Jenkins - President, University of Notre Dame

  • Mark A. Nordenberg - Chancellor, University of Pittsburgh

  • John G. Peters - President, Northern Illinois University

  • Bill Powers - President, University of Texas

  • Gary Ransdell - President, Western Kentucky University

  • Robert Shelton - President, University of Arizona

  • Charles W. Steger - President, Virginia Tech University

  • John Welty - President, Fresno State University

  • Robert Witt - President, University of Alabama