BCS announces teams still under consideration for berths

The 11 Bowl Championship Series (BCS) conferences and four bowls today announced the teams that remain under consideration to participate in the five games that comprise the BCS.

The teams were identified during a teleconference among the 11 Football Bowl Subdivision conference commissioners, the Notre Dame athletics director, and representatives from the Discover Orange Bowl, Allstate Sugar Bowl, Tostitos Fiesta Bowl and the Rose Bowl Game presented by VIZIO. The No. 1 and No. 2 teams in the final BCS Standings will meet in the Discover BCS National Championship Game January 7 in South Florida.

The champions of the Atlantic Coast, Big East, Big Ten, Big 12, Pac-12 and Southeastern conferences automatically qualify for a BCS game. In addition, the highest-ranked conference champion from among Conference USA, the Mid-American, Mountain West, Sun Belt and Western Athletic Conferences earns automatic qualification to one of the BCS games if that champion is ranked No. 12 or better in the final BCS Standings, or No. 16 or better if it is ranked higher than any champion from the ACC, Big East, Big Ten, Big 12, Pac-12 or Southeastern conferences. Notre Dame qualifies automatically if it is ranked No. 8 or better.

At-large berths also will be available. The bowls will fill those berths from teams ranked in the top 14 of the final BCS Standings. No conference may place more than two teams in the BCS games, unless the conference has two teams in the National Championship Game, and neither team is its champion.

The final BCS Standings will be compiled Sunday, December 2. The BCS bowl pairings will be announced at 8:30 p.m. Eastern time that day, on ESPN television.

The champions from the six conferences which receive automatic spots in the BCS games have not been determined. The following is a list of teams still contending for their conferences' automatic berths:

  • ACC: Florida State, Georgia Tech

  • Big East: Louisville, Rutgers

  • Big Ten: Michigan, Nebraska, Wisconsin

  • Big 12: Kansas State, Oklahoma, Texas

  • Pac-12: Oregon, Stanford, UCLA

  • SEC: Alabama, Georgia, LSU, Texas A&M

In addition to those teams, the pool of teams remaining under consideration also includes (in alphabetical order): Boise State, Clemson, Florida, Kent State, Notre Dame, Oklahoma State, Oregon State and South Carolina.

Following is the schedule of the BCS games. All games will be televised on ESPN.

  • January 1 -- Rose Bowl Presented by VIZIO

  • January 1 -- Discover Orange Bowl

  • January 2 -- Allstate Sugar Bowl

  • January 3 -- Tostitos Fiesta Bowl

  • January 7 -- Discover BCS National Championship Game