Dates for playoff games announced

MIAMI -- The new college football playoff will launch with semifinals Jan. 1, 2015, in Pasadena, Calif., and New Orleans it was announced Tuesday by college football commissioners who met in Miami, making the Rose Bowl and the Sugar Bowl the first sites to host the newly launched four-team playoff.

The Orange Bowl in Miami and a yet-to-be named-site will host the semifinal games beginning in the second year of the playoff. The hosts of the semifinal games in the third year of the playoff are yet to be named.

Each bowl will host semifinals once every three years.

In addition, a Monday night in early January will become a fixed night for the national championship game, which previously floated among various weeknights.

"The new playoff is starting to take shape," said Bill Hancock, the Executive Director of the BCS and the future playoff. "This is an exciting time for college football as we take an already-popular game and make it even more exciting for student-athletes and fans."

The following is the rotation announced today by the commissioners:

Bowl Championship Series Rotation

About the Bowl Championship Series
The BCS is a five-game arrangement for post-season college football that is managed by the 11 Bowl Subdivision conferences and independent institutions. Its purpose is to match the two top-ranked teams in a national championship game and to create competitive match-ups in the four other BCS bowl games. For more information, visit http://www.bcsfootball.org.