Nebraska's Harvey Perlman to Chair BCS Presidents Group

University of Nebraska Chancellor Harvey Perlman has been named chairman of the 12-member Bowl Championship Series (BCS) Presidential Oversight Committee, succeeding Virginia Tech President Charles W. Steger, whose term is expiring.

"Harvey Perlman cares deeply about college football and will help guide us as we usher in the new playoff structure. We appreciate his continued leadership," said Bill Hancock, the Executive Director of the BCS and the new playoff.

The Presidential Oversight Committee, which includes a university president or chancellor representing each Football Bowl Subdivision conference and the University of Notre Dame, manages the BCS with particular focus on policy, format, revenue distribution, and contractual obligations.

The current members of the Presidential Oversight Committee are as follows:

The group announced last year that the new college football playoff format would begin with the 2014-2015 season, giving itself adequate time to transition from the current system.

About the Bowl Championship Series
The BCS is a five-game arrangement for post-season college football that is managed by the 11 Bowl Subdivision conferences and independent institutions. Its purpose is to match the two top-ranked teams in a national championship game and to create competitive match-ups in the four other BCS bowl games. For more information, visit http://www.bcsfootball.org.